cars are pretty complicated

June 19, 2009

Building a car

Building a car

I’ve been working on my car (’95 Infinity G20) recently and really am only beginning to appreciate how complicated and well-engineered it is. I think most of us take for granted that they’re complicated, a view certainly confirmed by looking under the hood. The interesting thing, though, is that every aspect of that complication is engineered in a very precise way. The thought that a team of people (or more like many teams over the years) sat down and designed every tiny part, every bend in the hose, every connection and bolt, really just boggles my mind.

Cars pale in comparison in complexity to something like a 747, an aircraft carrier, an industrial park, or a nuclear reactor, but they’re still incredible feats of engineering. We take so much of this complexity and mindful engineering for granted that it’s sometimes nice to step back and say, “You know, we humans are pretty damn clever.”

Here's a diagram of what I'm currently working on. The exhaust gas recirculation (EGR) valve it making my check-engine light go on. I have to figure out how to remove it and clean it. Wish me luck.

Here's a diagram of what I'm currently working on. The exhaust gas recirculation (EGR) valve it making my check-engine light go on. I have to figure out how to remove it and clean it. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

